I grew up Lutheran. I was admitted to Catholic Communion because I said publicly that I believed what the Catholic Church teaches.

raphael_disputa_large

By Fr. John Zuhlsdorf,  

I grew up Lutheran. It is of constant consternation and amazement to me that I have had to fight with Catholics over what the Catholic Church teaches about the Eucharist. I have met Lutherans who believe more about the Eucharist than a few of my seminary profs. I am not exaggerating.

As things rev up toward 2017 and the Lutherfest, much about Catholic Lutheran dialogue will be in the offing. You will read lots of blah blah about…

….intercommunion.

I say YES! I want intercommunion, too!

I want intercommunion between Catholics and former Lutheran converts to Catholicism.

Also, before everyone out there gets their underthings in a twist, I said “blah blah”.  Mark my words.  A lot of the blah blah about how wonderful we all are together in this warm envelope of fraternal dialogue and sky-filled fellowship of sharing with open-hearts and arms…

View original post 1,117 more words

2 thoughts on “I grew up Lutheran. I was admitted to Catholic Communion because I said publicly that I believed what the Catholic Church teaches.

  1. Bravo! Go team! I’ve got a few scars myself. In RCIA, the DRE was a RSM who thought she’d be a better Pastor than our Pastor and was working towards women’s ordination. I challenged her heresy in front of the class and it nearly cost me Baptism, Confirmation and First Holy Communion at the Vigil. I got there, but it was very obvious to me that I wasn’t welcome, nor were my children because they were mine. Heresy hurts everyone. We are all being robbed by it, whether or not we are aware of it. We are living through exceedingly dark times. When history writes about what is going on, it will tell the tale much differently than those who speak about such things today. Heresy? What heresy? There’s no such thing anymore. Just about the finish Burke’s book Divine Love Made Flesh. I love the man. I wish he were my Pastor. Sigh. Nuff said. God bless. Ginnyfree.

Leave a Reply

